Blog
Lutein and Zeaxanthin for Memory: AREDS2 Findings
No trial supports lutein and zeaxanthin for memory. AREDS2 found no significant effect on a cognitive score, and the same pair was studied for eye disease. The sibling-pack list prints only 5 percent for each with no base, and no milligram amount exists in our materials.
Written by the CogniHoney label deskUpdated · 4 min read

Do lutein and zeaxanthin help memory?
The best trial found no significant effect on a cognitive score.
AREDS2 gave 3,741 older adults lutein 10 mg plus zeaxanthin 2 mg a day for about five years. Their composite cognitive score did not change in a statistically significant way (Chew 2015, AREDS2 cognition). Those are the trial's amounts, not CogniHoney's.
The unconfirmed sibling-pack list names lutein (5%) and zeaxanthin (5%). It prints no statement of what the percentages refer to, and no milligram amount exists in any material we hold.
What were they studied for?
Eye disease, specifically age-related macular degeneration.
The trial enrolled people already at risk of that eye condition, which makes them a narrow group. Results in them may not carry over to a healthy adult reading a memory label.
The AREDS 2 formula may slow progression in people with intermediate AMD, or late AMD in one eye. It cannot prevent early AMD from advancing and probably will not help late AMD in both eyes (NEI, AREDS 2 supplements). Memory was a side question asked afterward.
| Point | AREDS2 | CogniHoney list |
|---|---|---|
| Lutein | 10 mg a day | "5%", reference not stated |
| Zeaxanthin | 2 mg a day | "5%", reference not stated |
| Length | About 5 years | No study |
| People | Older adults at eye-disease risk | Not tested |
Can a percent on a list replace an amount?
No. A percent without a base tells you nothing about how much reaches you.
It could mean a share of an extract, of the capsule fill or of the pigment content. Only a printed amount per serving lets you compare against a trial. Two capsules a day would make the amount per day twice the amount per capsule, but without either figure the sum is empty. The panel below shows what the bottle render does and does not carry.
| Brand | CogniHoney, with a gold honeycomb-C emblem |
|---|---|
| Front line | Advanced Cognitive Support For Memory, Focus & Clarity* |
| Icon lines | Memory & Recall Support* · Focus & Mental Clarity Formula* · Supports Cognitive Health* |
| Count | 30 Capsules Count |
| Type | Dietary Supplement |
| FDA statement | These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. (the asterisk points to it; the full statement is not visible on the render) |
Not shown in any image given to this site
- Supplement Facts panel (serving size, amounts, % Daily Value)
- Ingredient list and amounts
- Other ingredients and allergen statement
- Suggested use and warnings
- Lot number, best-before date, distributor or manufacturer name
- Any certifier, lab or audit name
The renders we have show only the front of the bottle. There is no Supplement Facts panel, no other-ingredients line, no suggested use, no warnings, no lot or best-before date and no distributor line in the images given to this site. Read these on the bottle you receive.

CogniHoney capsules: 30 on the bottle count2, 3 or 6 bottles · 60-day guarantee per seller materials
See packsWhat does the NIA say about supplements for cognition?
No vitamin or supplement is recommended to prevent cognitive decline (NIA, Cognitive Health and Older Adults).
That holds whatever the list says. If eye health is your real question, ask an eye doctor before starting anything; see the lutein and zeaxanthin page and do memory supplements work.

Mid pack
3 bottles: 90 capsules
Not listed on the packNot listed on the pack a bottle
Shipping shown at checkout · 60-day guarantee, confirm live
Order 3 bottles
Longest supply
6 bottles: 180 capsules
Not listed on the packNot listed on the pack a bottle
Shipping shown at checkout · 60-day guarantee, confirm live
Order 6 bottlesPrices are blank until copied from the live CogniHoney checkout. Check your medicines with your doctor or pharmacist before you order.
FAQ01
CogniHoney questions people ask
Is there a lutein and zeaxanthin amount that helps memory?
No trial has found one; AREDS2 used 10 mg and 2 mg and saw no significant cognitive effect.
Do lutein and zeaxanthin improve memory?
In AREDS2 they had no significant effect on a cognitive score, so we cannot say they do.
What are lutein and zeaxanthin used for?
The AREDS 2 formula was studied for slowing intermediate age-related macular degeneration.
How much lutein does CogniHoney have?
No amount exists in our materials; the sibling list prints only a percent with no stated base.
Who wrote this02
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the seller checkout and linked NIH, FDA, FTC, CDC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site for a U.S. authorized retailer of CogniHoney. It is not the manufacturer. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about CogniHoney
USA Authorized CogniHoney Retailer
Ready to look at CogniHoney?
Read the bottle you receive, check your medicines with a pharmacist (blood thinners, thyroid, statins and diabetes medicines matter here), then pick a pack. The guarantee is 60 days per the seller's materials; confirm the live wording at checkout.
- Checkout on the sales site
- 60-day guarantee (confirm live)
- Ships from the U.S.
